RCAS task force to begin process of high school redesign

Pathways 2

This week, a group of RCAS staff members and community stakeholders from local business and industry entities embarked on an exciting new journey; the development of a blueprint and recommendations for multiple, flexible pathways and opportunities for students. This work was made possible thanks to a $177,000 grant from the John T. Vucurevich Foundation.

“Designing high school pathways for students that include options that aren’t solely focused on the traditional four year degree align with the John T Vucurevich Foundation’s cradle to career continuum of success funding strategy,” John T. Vucurevich Program Officer Jessica Gromer said.  “Career and college awareness before high-school graduation, particularly for students experiencing poverty, are one of the keys to personal and professional success beyond high school,” Gromer added.

RCAS is working with the National Center for College & Career Transitions (NC3T) to develop the comprehensive high school pathways program. When implemented, RCAS high school students will be able to choose a pathway that best suits their needs and interests. The pathways will clearly connect learning to career themes and offer real-world work experiences within the community. Studies clearly show that students who are excited about the content they are learning experience higher rates of academic success and transition more effectively into post-secondary education opportunities and high-demand careers – a win for the students and community.

STEAM2 pathways already identified include:

  • Science & Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Health Services

Other pathways for consideration include:

  • Construction Trades & Technology
  • Business, Hospitality & Entrepreneurship
  • Arts & Humanities
  • Others TBD

The blueprint will be developed by the Pathways Task Force during the 2018-2019 school year. The first stage of implementation will begin during the 2019-2020 school year. All pathways will be in place by the 2021-2022 school year.